Sunday Strolls: The London Review Bookshop

Hello Hello!

 

This weekend I got back to London after a very relaxing week back at my parents house up North in the countryside, and it’s fairly safe to say I have returned to the big smoke feeling a lot more rejuvenated than I was a week ago – ah the country air!

I had reading week at uni last week and since Christmas was quite busy for me – work wise and also being with my boyfriend and his family a lot – I didn’t feel like I’d spent a great deal of time with my family recently, so I took it as a perfect opportunity to spend some time back in my little village in North Yorkshire.

IMG_0811.jpg

However, as it turned out, 10 days was too long to be away from my boyfriend – and dissertation work was not going as well as planned, so I booked an early ticket back to London and hey, what do you know, Tom and I found ourselves discovering a new bookshop on Tom’s newly written ‘bookshops to see in London’ list.

Sunday was an unexpectedly sunny day in London so we took a more scenic route than planned past somerset house and up to Holborn.

screen-shot-2017-02-27-at-13-53-31

I forgot to take a picture of Somerset House… but this is one from when I was interning last year and that still counts right?

After a little detour around Bloomsbury Square we found our way to the London Review Bookshop.

IMG_0820.jpg

This is the back entrance (which apparently you aren’t supposed to use), the front is just around the corner from the British Museum.

IMG_0823.jpg

IMG_0824.jpg

(The man had to come and let us in)

IMG_0825.jpg

I won’t deny that after having fairly high expectations, seen as it is so highly recommended, that we couldn’t help but find the place a bit of a let down. I think Tom and I are so used now to going to such old and beautiful bookshops, either that or full of character; that anything that looks, kind of, normal, I guess, seems a little disappointing.

I believe, on the other hand, that the London Review Bookshop is famous for it’s books, for example, the place is littered with signed copies.

IMG_0830.jpg

IMG_0826.jpg

A cafe attached, aptly named ‘The London Review Cake Shop’ sits next-door, but unfortunately for us, as it was Sunday, it was closed. It did look lovely though, and I hope to go again for the cake, if nothing else!

IMG_0831.jpg

IMG_0832.jpg

All in all: definitely worth a visit if you’re in the area, but maybe not making a special trip (unless you’re after something in particular, or cake..)

After, as always, we were starving and desperate for lunch, so I thought I’d share our other little find of the day.

Initially, we were trying to find a pub called Ye Olde Cheshire Cheese, Fleet St (from Tom’s book of the best London pubs), but again, it was shut. So after a little detour to Dr. Johnson’s house, a familiar lunch spot from my interning days, we found a little cafe called The Fleet Street Press (PRESS Coffee & Co.), where I did a bit of uni work and Tom worked on a blog post about books (can you see why we’re together?)

IMG_0833.jpg

I didn’t take a picture of the upstairs, but the food and coffee was great, there was free wifi and comfy seats – also not too busy which was a bonus.

IMG_0834.jpg

I’m a huge fan of Fleet St, I spent a lot of time there while I was at Little, Brown last summer and it’s such an underrated part of London. There’s so much history and hidden treasures around there, especially if you’re interested in publishing like I am, seeing as it’s basically the publishing capital of London.

 

So there you have it – another variant of what Tom and I do best! Hope you’ve had a good weekend 🙂 And any bookshop cafe recommendations are always VERY welcome!

 

Billie x

Leave a Reply

