An American in Paris and The Boat Race

Hello! It’s been a few weeks!

Truth is, I haven’t been doing a lot other than uni work but now the sun’s out, spring has sprung and London is in full bloom and I’m happy and optimistic and UNI IS ALMOST OVER AND SUMMER IS ALMOST HERE!

 

Last weekend marked what I feel like is the start of some very lovely summer weekends to come, I finished my last week of lectures and finally got to enjoy Tom’s valentines present to me which was to go and see An American in Paris in the West End.

IMG_0991.jpg
lol @ this useless picture.

Tom and I are both massive theatre fans and this one has had so many incredible reviews (plus we love Paris) so we were both pretty excited.

IMG_0990.jpg

I absolutely loved the performance, I found it so romantic and I loved the costumes and the ballet and story – Tom, however, as a huge commercial theatre fan, was less keen.

I’d say that if you’re into the whole catchy-sing-songy-I-already-know-all-the-words kind of thing then this maybe isn’t for you. But if you’re a fan of old movies, Frank Sinatra, Audrey Hepburn and ballet then this may be right up your street.

The evening was followed by quirky cocktails at Reverend J W Simpson in Goodge St (which I for some reason forgot to photograph). It’s a really fun distressed looking townhouse packed with twenty-something’s, which serves pretty unique cocktails and is definitely a really cool date setting.

The following morning I went for brunch with an old friend of mine to Princi on Wardour St.

Princi is an Italian deli which is so authentic, reasonably priced and so delicious.

IMG_0997IMG_0996IMG_0995

I went for a modest croissant and olive and tomato focaccia, as I was shortly meeting Tom and his parents for lunch.

IMG_0992.jpg

I had a bit of time to kill after brunch and the sun was shining so I had a little wonder around Soho, I forget sometimes how cool it is – definitely one of my favourite parts of London. Inevitably, I found myself at Foyles – because is it even possible to walk along Charing Cross Rd and not go in? Although I still have an absolute stack of books left from my internship, I literally can not seem to stop myself from buying more – I am an absolute sucker for a bestseller. This time, I picked up ‘My Name is Lucy Barton’ and ‘The Tobacconist’, the first I finished earlier on this week and at a mere 190ish pages, it’s definitely a quick and easy read but nonetheless enjoyable. The latter, Tom claimed first and so I’m yet to read it (he says so far it’s brilliant).

IMG_0998.jpg

IMG_0999.jpg

IMG_1001.jpg

I then decided to pop to the hummingbird bakery to get some cupcakes for Tom’s parents and as a little boat race snack, (I didn’t take a picture inside as there weren’t many people in there and I got too shy…but these cupcakes are INSANE and if you pass a hummingbird bakery ya gotta get one). I got the flavours: vanilla, cookies and cream, hot cross bun and salted caramel.

IMG_1002.jpg

I then walked through Piccadilly Circus to get the tube to Parsons Green (easier said than gone, Earls Court is a nightmare and I somehow ended up in Kensington Olympia, but got to the pub just in time for lunch to be served).

IMG_1003.jpg

It was then time to head down to Putney Bridge, where we’d be watching the Boat Race; we went to the fan park in Bishops Park, which is a super lovely and beautiful park in Fulham which is just the best place for a Sunday picnic, and had great views of the river.

IMG_1004.jpg

IMG_1017.jpg

And, well, you know the results… YAY OXFORD! (and Cambridge.. phh!)

IMG_1020.jpg

IMG_7273.jpg

We then went for dinner in Fulham before an sleepy tube journey home – all in all, this was a pretty perfect weekend.

Today it’s 23 degrees and we’re going for a picnic in the park – how perfect. Hope you’ve enjoyed the sunny weekend!

Love,

Billie x

Leave a Reply

