I’m Back With A Saturday in South Ken and Internship #4!

on

Hello all – it’s been a little while since I last posted, because everything has been busy busy BUSY.

Two weeks ago today I handed in my dissertation, marking the end of my academic life and my time at university, and since I have finished another internship, been home to see my family, and last night I got back from a lovely long-weekend in Berlin.

However, with that aside, and now with perhaps too much time on my hands – I’m back on here and back documenting various hipster coffee shops, brunch cafes and beautiful bookshops (you just wait until the Berlin post).

I’m going to start with a weekend from a few weeks ago where I had the BEST brunch I think I have ever ever had and we went to not one but TWO West London bookshops and then finally give you a little overview of my editorial internship at John Blake Publishing, and my Berlin post (possibly guest-written by my boyfriend) will be up in the next week or so.


So, in our weekend explorations of different areas of London, this particular Saturday took us to South Kensington and Muriel’s Kitchen.

IMG_1126.jpg

IMG_1127.jpg

IMG_1117.jpg

IMG_1118.jpg

IMG_1116.jpg

I had the veggie bowl and Tom, the pancakes, with a Flat White – and goodness me this was one of the best things I’ve ever tasted – genuinely a vegetarian’s dream!

IMG_1121.jpg

IMG_1119.jpg

IMG_1122.jpg

Next we went just around the corner to South Kensington Books – a beautiful bookshop, which for some unknown but amazing reason had a full bookcase of fairly current bestsellers at only £3.50. I don’t know why you price your books so low South Ken Books but THANK YOU – I picked up The Portable Veblen by Elizabeth Mckenzie, which I am yet to read but very much looking forward to, and Tom got Starter For Ten by David Nicholls (a firm favourite of mine).

IMG_1128.jpg

IMG_1130.jpg

IMG_1131.jpg

Next we decided to walk down to Chelsea for a little look around the shops on the Kings Road and a visit to the Saatchi Gallery – the exhibition was Selfie to Self Expression (finishes at the end of the month – definitely get yourself there before then!) which was really cool and interactive.

IMG_1135.jpg

Next we popped into a little bookshop just off the Kings Road called John Sandoe Books which is a super cool, old-fashioned independent bookshop with crazy shelves of disorganised chaos which undoubtably adds to its charm and individuality.

IMG_1153.jpg

IMG_1154.jpg

IMG_1155.jpg

IMG_1156.jpg

IMG_1159.jpg

IMG_1157.jpg

And that brings me to the end of another blissful Saturday in my favourite city – I’m constantly amazed by this beautiful place and all of its quirks and opportunities. Dr Samuel Johnson famously said that when a man is tired of Londonhe is tired of life. It’s when I’m writing this blog that I realise how right he was – London is a city of so much diversity, complexity and culture and the places to see and explore are endless and I’m incredibly lucky to spend so much time here.


On the topic of opportunities, London has granted me yet one more, an editorial internship at John Blake Books, which I organised before even starting my third year of uni. I spent two weeks, while in the final stages of my dissertation, in the John Blake offices in West Kensington with a team of such intelligent, talented and truly kind people who gave me my second insight into working in the editorial department of a book publisher and the tasks and duties at hand (even if that did mean, making John Blake his morning coffee). As I now approach the start of my professional life, I feel fortunate to have gained experience in the places I have, with the people who worked there, who have helped me to confirm what I want to do with my life.

As I now begin the job application process, my experience in this competitive industry has only made me more driven and determined to succeed. I’m finding this an incredibly daunting time, full of so much uncertainty and anxiety and I’m just hoping that the things I have done so far will carry me through.

Anyway, wish me luck, and see you in the next post.

Billie x

Leave a Reply

